CLOSED to any and all requests until further notice
Thank you for your patience

29 Nov 2008

Hosts

Hosts, written by Dylan J. Morgan and published by Wild Child Publishing is a dark fiction novel at 147 pages including cover, publisher’s page and thanks.

Now living and working in Norway, Dylan J Morgan was born in New Zealand and raised in the United Kingdom. He writes during those rare quiet moments amid a hectic family life: after dark, with limited sustenance, and when his creative essence is plagued the most by tormented visions.
Dylan Morgan has also had several short stories published and has completed his second novel Flesh which is going through reviewing, he is currently working on his third novel.

The cover for Hosts is black with white writing and a ghostly white figure in the centre which has worms inside its mouth.

In the small town of Snow Peak, North America an important archaeological discovery will change the town and its people forever. When archaeologist Marianne White becomes the first victim to an ancient parasite over five centuries old and with a storm growing, it is only a matter of time before the entire town is isolated in a nightmare which threatens the lives of everyone. The protection of the town lies in the hands of the Sheriff and the local GP Dr Lauren Kemper, whose own personal nightmares from her past have come flooding back in the form of the husband, Malcolm Macdonald, she escaped two years earlier. Together can they save the town and those in it from the growing number of parasites as the number of inhabitant’s decreases?

Dylan Morgan grasps your attention from the very first chapter, with excellent descriptions of the scene and what is going on which enable you to picture the scenes easily. The characters are believable in both how they put themselves across and also the often terrifying situations they find themselves in.

In Hosts, Dylan Morgan is at his best when lives are on the line and it appears all hope is lost. This is a story of fear, of facing it head on no matter the cost, standing up for what is right and important and conquering personal fears and those of unknown sources. It’s about life and death, and love versus money.

Though I’d say the synopsis would intrigue me into reading this book, I do not think the cover would, not being a bug fan myself I would not recommend this book to anyone with a fear of bugs namely, worms. However having read this book, I would recommend it to anyone over 18 years old, without a fear of worms or bugs likely to raise its head.

Dylan Morgan has done a wonderful job with his descriptions and paints a terrifying picture sure to make you stay away from any water sources. I give Hosts by Dylan Morgan 4.5 out of 5 stars

By R.N. Hadley

8 Nov 2008

Like Glass

Like Glass is Matthew Cory’s first book which is 203 pages in length, not including title pages and thanks to his wife Patti. Though he has written four short stories which he considers complete none have yet been published.

Matthew Cory currently resides in El Paso Texas with his wife, his two year old beagle, Chloe, and cat, Charlie. He is a software/web developer.

Eight years ago during college, Rob fell deeply in love with someone he barely knew. Then one night his brother Bill betrayed him terribly shattering their relationship and leaving Rob alone, cut off from everyone depressed and wishing his brother were dead.

Eight years later awaiting a phone call from his brother to his shock it is Janet, Bill’s wife who phones informing him of his brother’s death, but with so much history between Rob, Bill and Janet, how is Rob to feel...sad he has lost a brother? Happy his wish had come true? Or perhaps upset he didn’t get to kill him himself? Unable to play the piano any longer Rob’s personal dreams are destroyed and he’s forced to seek employment.

In the wake of Bills death can Rob become the person he once was or has he changed so much. Can he forgive and forget and allow himself to move on beyond all the hurt he’s causing himself and those around him.

This wasn’t my usual type of book to read, though this isn’t your typical romance either, if anything I think it’s a bit of a psychological thriller as well. What Matthew Cory has here is a wonderful little story of romance and how one can be betrayed and so easily, not only that but also how family and friends are the most important of things along with trust. This is a story entirely based on love and trust, and how easily these can be reversed. But it’s also a story about how you cannot hide your feelings or emotions from those closest to you and that it doesn’t matter who you are whether old or young we are all fragile, Like Glass.

There are many twists and turns throughout the story as it travels between the present and the events eight years previous. There are one or two sentences which require mild restructuring and a few common spelling mistakes which can easily be corrected, though eyes trained or untrained will be able to see what is being said.

There is a lot of emotion portrayed in this story that at times you cannot decide who is playing the part of the good guy and bad guy. The psychology of Like Glass is really what holds this story together magnificently by creating and manipulating the emotions of both the believable and wonderful characters and that of the reader.

I would recommend Like Glass by Matthew Cory to anyone aged 16 years plus and give this book, 4 out of 5 stars.

By R.N. Hadley

24 Oct 2008

The Legend Of Witch Bane

The Legend Of Witch Bane by Kevis Hendrickson and published by Outskirts Press Inc is a children’s adventure at 330 pages in length covering 40 chapters.

Kevis Hendrickson lives in Miami Florida and is already working on the sequel to The Legend Of Witch Bane.

The cover art created by Michael Graham depicts three children one male and two girls backed into a corner holding a flaming torch, swords and a bow and arrow against the ever approaching werewolves. The cover itself is dark and the title and author name are written in silver, the name Witch Bane is backed by a sword through the lettering. There are also illustrations by Karen Petrasko throughout the book which are beautiful depictions of what is happening in the chapter where it is placed.

When evil Queen Rhiannon Eldess threatens the lives of the daughters of the Kingdom of Kaldan once more, the King and his Queen fear for the lives of their daughters. When the youngest, Anyr, is taken, her older brother Kodobos makes it his duty to save her but in doing so is forced to steal the Sword Of Kings which belongs to his father. In doing so Kaldan is placed in mortal danger and the kingdom falls under a dark enchantment. In a world full of dangers around every corner and so foreign to them, the children along with their elder sister Laris a mystery unto everyone and a half breed, must leave the kingdom on a quest to claim the sword known as Witch Bane if they are to feel the warmth of their parents love and protection ever again, a legendary sword powerful enough to destroy Rhiannon herself and break her evil spell upon Kaldan.

Kevis Hendrickson has created an amazing story reminiscent of the fairy tales of old we all grew up reading and still read to our younger family members to this day. With its mixture of Arthurian Legend and Greek and Norse mythology also play their part in this story of love, hate, loss, trust, deception and growing up but also what it means to be as innocent as a child should be.

While you can place which fairy tale or legend a certain event is based around there are also visible differences allowing this story to stand on its own.

This world is full of both wonderful and terrible creatures and people alike that anyone who reads this book will take away something, perhaps a new perception of the world around them.
As with all fairy tales there are lessons to be learnt around every corner however, un-like the fairy tales of old I’d say The Legend Of Witch Bane is aimed more toward those of around 10 years old to adult. I say this because there is one or two incidents in which I personally feel is not suitable no matter how carefully worded a child below 10 years of age should read and as Mr Hendrickson himself states in his book, children have the largest imaginations.

The characters are in themselves well created however the three children Laris, Anyr and Kodobos do sound older than they truly are though one could say that is down to their heritage.

Kevis Hendrickson has a unique way of telling the story that the amount of information you’re given is neither too little nor too much and yet remains to feel like you are being read to.

For younger readers this is a wonderful tale of learning to understand that no matter what, don’t be too eager to grow up however be more aware of what is going on around you for there is both good and evil in the world and both know not the limit of age.

For the older reader this is a grand trek across the magical world of Arva where dragons talk and some breathe ice and goblins seek the greatest of all treasures. If you loved Lord Of The Rings, The Hobbit, Grimms Tales, even far older tales lost in time then this tale has it all and will have you glued to its pages through every twist and turn.

I completed this book in four sittings and I would highly recommend anyone over the age of ten years of age to have The Legend Of Witch Bane sitting on their bookshelves. However, I do fear that by not mentioning a timeline for the journey within the story it does appear that at least one of the children every single day if not more, is in mortal peril. That being said this is a wonderful adventure story beautifully written and illustrated, and I give The Legend Of Witch Bane by Kevis Hendrickson 4.5 out of 5 stars.

By R.N. Hadley

1 Oct 2008

Frank Testimony

Frank Testimony written by J. Walt Layne and published by Champion City Press Ohio is a legal thriller at 291 pages long.

A veteran of the United States Army, a full time student at Urbana University studying business and human services, and working a full time job, J. Walt Layne has written for years. He has co-authored a science fiction novella titled The Coming Of T’Loal. Mr Layne currently resides in Springfield, Ohio with his wife and two children.

The cover art is red and black depicting what appears to be a field of thorns. The title in white bold lettering stands out in the top centre against the backdrop and the author name in small white lettering sits snug in the bottom right hand corner.

The synopsis is short but carries with it a half page excerpt which in its self sounds interesting but having been brought up watching court room dramas doesn’t sound to be my cup of tea since I never liked them.

Bedford Mississippi is home to some dark goings on and dangerous people and claverns (KKK). When Paul Whitaker and his daughter Mae are savagely murdered evidence points that Frank Burchill having recently been fired from his job is to blame for the deaths of his boss and the girl he loves. Sentenced to death Frank’s life changes in many ways, when he inherits the plantation he has been working on. Will Frank’s testimony save him? Will the real culprit be caught and receive his comeuppance by revenge? or the sword of justice?

The font is smaller than most novels and the chapters are unnumbered each having their own title and even though this can leave you bewildered for how many chapters remain they are at times short meaning you can get through quite a few in one sitting.

Though admittedly I am not a legal thriller fan I did enjoy reading this book if not only to find out what happened at the end. The synopsis I believe gives a little away to the story but it’s not until you’re over half way through the book that certain parts of the synopsis begin to materialise. The legal jargon appears professional and left me feeling I was both there but also wanting out. The period portrayed here in Frank Testimony in Nathan County Mississippi in 1958 is one to be carefully handled but I believe Mr Layne has done a wonderful job in his use of language and image portrayal.

There are three stories to this book, that of Frank Burchill and his love Mae Whitaker; that of Bobby Lee Russell, Mae Whitaker and Frank Burchill and the plot thickener and base of the book the involvement of the Ku Klux Klan within society and how though highly struggle some and with casualty’s, society fought back.

Writing this review has really taken me out of my safety zone that I just haven’t known how to structure this review for a book which deals with something completely foreign to me, and that still even to this day goes on somewhere in this world. I know law rushes for no-one in seeking the truth but I was glad having finished reading the book even though I did enjoy it. I think perhaps a larger font could possibly have given this book a fairer chance as often you would find yourself struggling to continue reading it’s a good job that Mr Layne has such an amazing story here to tell otherwise the legal jargon and font would be a black hole.

I would recommend Frank Testimony to anyone aged over 18 years as there are strong impressionable political views and strong offensive language unsuitable for younger generations. I give Frank Testimony by J. Walt Layne 4 out of 5 stars

By R.N. Hadley

8 Sep 2008

Sheep and Wolves

Sheep and Wolves by Jeremy Shipp and published by Raw Dog Screaming Press is a collection of bizarre dark fiction at around 161 pages including cover, publication pages, acknowledgements, thanks and contents.

Jeremy Shipp currently resides with his wife Lisa in their haunted Victorian farmhouse in Southern California. He has written numerous creations which are published in over 40 publications. Sheep and Wolves is his first published collection of stories. His debut novel is called Vacation.

The cover of Sheep and Wolves created by Jennifer C. Barnes depicts the title in bold lettering, the writing is black and on an orange background with a wolf at the top and a sheep at the bottom. It looks as if the wolf is leaping down toward the sheep.

The seventeen stories here told are anything between two and thirty two pages in length. The theme appears to be of strong and weak people in different yet similar and usually bloody situations. How does this fit the title, perfectly in fact since the strong (wolf) preys on the weak (sheep).

Jeremy Shipp has a rather unique way of writing which both draws the reader deep into the story quickly but also confuses the hell out of you along the way as the events unroll. He’s like the voice in your head, the narrator of life that gives you insight to another’s world, thoughts and dreams. Truly he see’ things differently than most. It’s a hallucination wrapped in complete fantasy rolled in reality and raked through horror.

I would love to read some of these stories as longer versions to see what else Mr Shipp can come up with but also to see how these characters came to find themselves in these situations. I would certainly recommend Mr Shipp’s work to anyone over the age of 18 years. Any author that can create an emotional attachment in such short a time and can manage to both confuse the reader yet maintain their attention without faltering certainly deserves four stars like Mr Jeremy Shipp.


By R.N. Hadley

29 Aug 2008

Rise and Walk

Rise and Walk written by Gregory Solis and published by Hadrian Publishing in 2007 is a horror novel at 222 pages in length with 40 chapters.

Gregory Solis is a Writer, Filmmaker, and Digital Media Artist. He is a graduate of San Francisco State University with Bachelors in Cinema. He currently resides in Northern California.

The cover art for Rise and Walk designed by Gregory Solis, depicting his own bloody decaying hand and wrist resting against what appears to be a tree in darkened woodland. The image was photographed by Christina Grill and edited in Photoshop. The title and author name stand out nicely in grey against such a dark cover, the bottom of the letters of the title are also decaying the closer they are to the hand.

Rise and Walk’s synopsis is a single paragraph which reads like the back of a DVD cover, it is clear to the point and accompanies the title perfectly.

When a meteorite crashes to earth and is collected by an eager professor and his geology class it is the start of the most terrifying summer anyone could ever imagine.

In Rise and Walk by Gregory Solis we meet a number of characters of differing backgrounds in the first few chapters. When the meteorite crashes in the camp site everyone is staying in, it isn’t long before a mysterious green mist puts everyone’s lives in danger.

Trapped in the wilderness we join two groups of people a pair of female camp site workers and two male military wannabe’s partaking in a paintball competition, who have to join forces and learn to overcome their fears if any of them are to survive. Amongst them a female med student Veronica seeks to find out and understand exactly what is causing what appears to be an infection of some kind, but even she knows she is way out of her league.

The book appears to take its time to fully kick off however what is happening is that you are being shown exact details leading to the full outbreak which draws you deeper into the book. There is a lot of blood and gore in this book once the dead Rise and Walk which is from the very first chapter. The descriptions of blood tearing are vivid and leave nothing to the imagination but a hunger for more.

Can the group figure out what is happening and warn civilisation before the walking dead reach town? Can people find it within themselves to save others? To stand and fight? Or run to the hills and hide?

The first line reads Many people are afraid of the dark, well if you weren’t before you may just be by the time you finish reading. It took me three days to finish Rise and Walk and although I could not quite grasp the amount of time spent during the paintball competition, I did thoroughly enjoy the book which brought to mind the old children’s rhyme if you go down to the woods today you’re sure of a big surprise which definitely holds sway with this book, especially since the surprise is a growing mass of bloody reanimating corpses. I can’t wait for the next instalment in the Rise and Walk series titled, Rise and Walk: Pathogen.

I give Rise and Walk by Gregory Solis 4.5 out of 5 stars

By R.N. Hadley

25 Aug 2008

Pit-Stop

Pit-Stop written by Ben Larken and published by LL-Publications is Mr Larken’s first published work. At 241 pages and with a layout probably equal to that of a 300 pager, the book appears of reasonable length.

Ben Larken was born in Fort Worth, Texas, where he now resides with his wife, children and pets. He has also lived in Arizona and New Mexico.

The cover art for Pit-Stop by Ben Larken was created by Helen E. H. Madden and stands out with its eerie quality. There is a lot of red colouring which to most will imply blood. The title and author name stand boldly against the backdrop of a red petrol pump reading Total Price $6.66 and a grinning skull above. The cover alone would spark my curiosity and has me wondering exactly what lies in wait.

Above the synopsis are the words Last Chance At Redemption For The Next Million Years...
Having read the four paragraph synopsis I am eager to read this book and I am in no doubt that the last words of the synopsis will ring true. One thing is clear: you’ll think twice before you make your next Pit-Stop.

The plot of the book reads like a bad joke, ten people find themselves in an eerie diner without any memory of how they got there or why, and no way out. All that’s known is what waitress Holly tells them, “A bus is coming”. So how can you escape from somewhere when you have no idea where you are, how long you’ve been there, how you got there and how to leave when even your own mind is telling you to stay where you are.

Mr Larken has created a range of characters so realistic you could be sat there with them in the Pit-Stop amongst them they include a junkie, a cop, and two sisters. What lies in wait for them when the bus finally arrives? And why can’t they leave the Diner until then? Is there life beyond the Pit-Stop Grill? Or is the outside just as terrifying as being stuck inside? One thing’s for certain even in death a cop’s job is never done.

Personally having had the displeasure of both being a waitress and having to wear a name tag, Mr Larken has certainly captured the frustration of the job and any job which carries a name tag, in all its glory in the first few pages alone.

When all is said and done trust at the most darkest and dangerous of times is a hard thing to find when self doubt plays it tormenting games, can the unlikely group band together and conquer the greatest of all enemies, death. Can they out run their fate, maybe change it?

The story is not as predictable as some books with some great twists, turns and u-turns which will have you itching to know what is going to happen. I didn’t want to put the book down for fear of what might happen next. On the downside there are a couple of mistakes with regard to editing but it is so few it does little to hamper the story itself. I would highly recommend this book to anyone above the age of 18 years of age, and I look forward to reading more work by Mr Larken even if it means another visit to the deadliest grill in Arizona. Pit-Stop by Ben Larken definitely gets 4.5 stars.

By R.N. Hadley

11 Jul 2008

Rage Of The Vampire

Rage of The Vampire by Hubert L Mullins and published by Author House is the second book in the Covenant Trilogy. At approximately 512 pages this is a long book. But who wants to rush a vampire…

Hubert L Mullins grew up in a small town, Welch in Southern West Virginia, a love for writing fantasy developed at an early age but the desire to make more from his work and of his work did not come until later.
Having written numerous other pieces Mr Mullins refused to allow his work to be released into the world. Then having generated local interest in the Covenant Trilogies with his first book The Vampires of Hope’s Covenant he sought a publisher. With rejections piling up and demands for change he stuck to his original idea refusing to make any changes and eventually found himself joining Author House.
Mr Mullins has just completed the third book in the Covenant Trilogy and will soon be starting a new story titled Birth of The Vampire.

The cover art for the book Rage Of The Vampire, is a sketch created by his father artist Hubert H Mullins and depicts a female crouched in what appears to be a prison. Through a barred window the outside world in the form of a vine meanders in toward her as she sits grasping her bleeding wrist while a scratch on her head also bleeds.

The first two pages or so depict maps showing the lay of the land of North and South Corscus. These are followed by a page of Deities Who Govern Mysteria, both Good, Evil and Neutral and the prologue which gives a short history of how the vampires came to be.

Rage Of The Vampire is a dark fantasy centered on the world of Mysteria. Here we follow the heroine Kersey Avonwood a prisoner for 15 years, a simple woman with a dark and murderous core. Why she is here, is she protecting someone, something, or herself?

The deities here though worshipped seek power and control, and to be named the one true god. They'll use any means possible and anyone they can to destroy their enemy, temples and followers. In their quest war waged tearing apart Mysteria and millions of followers died or turned against their gods. As Mydian god of the underworld seeks his worst enemy a war is breaking out amongst the gods whilst others join forces to de-throne the self proclaimed one true god.

A decade has passed since Dyne's death and finally her soul has found its resting place but Dyne must return to Mysteria amongst the living to kill Kersey for Mydian before seeking her own revenge against the man who killed her and her family, her prize to see her family again.

This is a story packed with colorful characters and species including mages, warriors, alchemists, gods, vampires and dragons, and will take you on a journey crossing land, air and sea.
The vampires portrayed here aren’t the typical Anne Rice romantic version we all expect to see but are in fact terrifying creatures
With Mydianites and Ruinites out to thwart each other can Kersey acquire the spell book of Aneesa and raise her dead army to outnumber that of Mydian or will Dyne acquire the book and kill Kersey herself.
Full of different aspects of love, hate, bloody revenge, and fear, which transcends all time and place as well as the system of belief and religion. This is a book which grasps your attention from the very first page with ideas both old and new combined and deserves not to be rushed through.

Having not read the first book in the trilogy Rage of The Vampire it did take me a little longer than most to read and find a pace to the book. However, I did thoroughly enjoy what it had to offer, which was an unending tale of darkness, despair and death in a world seeking the light at the end of the tunnel.
Personally I'm used to seeing vampires in a certain light but the darkness here works just as well you won’t know whose side you are truly on.
I would recommend this book to anyone aged 18 years and over. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
However, I'd recommend reading the first book of the Hopes Covenant Trilogy before picking up this one as there were one or two occasions which left me a little baffled.

By R.N. Hadley

27 Jun 2008

Severed Ties

Severed Ties Volume One by Kevin Krohn and published by Spiral Bound Publishing is 178 pages of suspense.

Kevin Krohn lives in Phoenix, Arizona with his wife and two children; an on and off writer over the years Severed Ties Volume One is his first work to be published. A Chuck Palahniuk reader and revenge movie fan, this was a book which Mr Krohn wanted to read himself and had in his mind for some time. "I have always loved the fact that writing allows you to tell any story you want, to control the outcome of a world you have created". Severed Ties Volume Two is currently in the works and Mr Krohn hopes to have it finished quickly so not to leave anyone in suspense for too long for the next instalment.

The cover art of Severed Ties by Jonathan Gullery leaves just about everything to the imagination. The cover is glossy and shows a young woman crouched climbing down from what appears to be the doorway of a derelict house. Why is she there? Why is she leaving? And what is she heading into?

The title and author name is bold and clearly stand out with the combination of darkness and light. If I saw this book on a shelf I'd be intrigued to learn more if only to find the answers to the above questions.

Since the death of her mother in a fire when she was two years old Nyne Harper has spent 18 years moving between small towns with her father. With the tragedy of her past haunting her memories she has grown to live a secluded life. With her father's over protective attitude and training she has spent the last eight months seeking revenge against those responsible for her mother’s death. Finally, moving back home to Portland, Oregon the thought of living a normal life appears on the horizon but there are a few more jobs to be done. Unsure if she's getting too cold to the kill or missing normality Nyne soon makes a friend at school. Rebellion starts and before she even realises the truth her entire world is turned upside down when she makes one mistake and defying her own father’s rules leading her realise everything she has ever known could in fact be a lie.

Severed Ties Volume One is a well written easy paced book which pulls you straight in from the very first chapter to the last. The book is entirely unpredictable that you'll be thinking the book is about to head in one direction but find yourself heading the opposite way.
Kevin Krohn has done a marvellous job with this book creating believable characters and situations his words flow simply from the pages. The character Nyne and the world around her has been so well created you can’t help but from early stages want to know more about her and how her life came to be so complicated.
This is a book clearly about family, trust, betrayal and revenge concentrating on the impact revenge can have on a persons personal life but also how it changes them as a human being but I think this story shows something more, at how strong every individual can become when what they face is an enemy bent on hurting them and those they love. I’d recommend this book to anyone aged 18 years and over, this is a great book that I enjoyed reading and I can not wait for Volume Two.
Since I was so impressed by how Mr Krohn managed to keep this book unpredictable to the end and still cant believe this is his first published piece, I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

By R.N. Hadley

10 Jun 2008

The Doctors Deception

The Doctors Deception written by Kathleen Grieve and published by The Wild Rose Press is a romance novel at 178 pages long including cover art and publication pages, due to be released on June 25th 2008.

An avid romance reader since the age of 13, Kathleen Grieve began writing in 2006. An English Major and a graduate of the University of Nebraska Medical Centre, earning her Bachelors Degree in Science and Nursing in 1994. Having spent 13 years as a nurse and ten of those in ICU, she has set her sights with the support of her family on new career in writing. Though this is a work entirely of fiction Miss Grieve has based the medical world in truth, having drawn from her own experiences and used actual questions and a writing sample found in study guides for the MCAT (Medical College Administrations test) in order to get a feel for the struggle Nurse Faith Daniels faced in her quest to get into medical school as mentioned in her authors note.

The cover art of The Doctors Deception created by Kim Mendoza is bright and leaves nothing to the imagination as to where this book is heading. The medical jacket and stethoscope lead you to know this is a book based in the world of medicine. On further thought the stethoscope can also be seen as a clue as to the fact the book is a romance novel, and dealing with matters of the heart. The revealing muscular torso of man then makes it evident that this book is aimed more towards the female of the species rather than the male.

Deerborne County General is a close knit family hospital where everyone knows everyone and everything. However, beyond the vale of kindness lies a problem which threatens to destroy the close net of friends and colleagues. The resident heart throb surgeon, Dr Stone Lassiter who leaves every female nurse melting in his presence. Focussing so hard upon his work he closes out those who he truly needs the support of, unless he changes from treating them with so much disrespect many will consider re-evaluating there careers. If he is to gain there trust and respect, and gain the funding needed in order to for fill a death bed promise and open his heart centre, he needs to win over the team and attend the upcoming charity dinner. But who should he take?...

Faith Daniels, nurse of the year having twice failed her MCAP exam, one time thanks to her ex-husband leaving her high, dry, and penniless she is determined not to fail one more time, nor let any man stand in the way of her dream to finally become a doctor. Thrust yet again for the fourth shift in a row to work alongside Dr Lassiter by her colleagues urging her to change the cave man. With her exam getting ever closer should she risk the hospitals fate or her own future?

The characters appear to be constantly fighting the line between personal and professional. The story and interactions between the characters remind me of elements from works by Nora Roberts and Kim Harrison. The language used is both professional and often humorous the world created here appears so real and considering there is so much medical information contained within I’m impressed with how Miss Grieve manages to not loose her reader. Professionally written with twists and turns you find yourself sighing at least once per chapter.

I must say I’m not really a romance reader, the title and cover aren’t to my personal interest however, I had this book read in one day. This is a fun book and I feel privileged to have had the opportunity to have read The Doctors Deception before its release at the end of June. I wouldn’t mind reading more works both in this genre and by Kathleen Grieve in the future.

A quirky tale of love, friendship, dreams, trust and betrayal in the ranks, dragging you down the halls of your local hospital and settling you into one big daydream you'll have the book finished in no time. Its like having an episode of ER in your hands and playing in your head. I'd recommend this book to anyone over the age of 18 years and older. An excellent read sure to have you turning page after page in a single sitting unwilling to take a break. Definitely something to curl up with on a cold night or rainy day with a glass of wine or a tub of ice cream before bed and capable of lifting anyone’s spirits.
I give this book a hearty (lol) 4 out of 5 stars.

By R.N. Hadley

5 Jun 2008

V1 {Clash at Creeden} Cypher 8 Of The CCR

Clash at Creeden, written and illustrated by The Sunz of the Zodiac; The Ace of Spadez, Scorpius Blood and Capricornus Woody is an epic battle of self, spiritual and literal proportions written as a scifi fantasy based in the future with elements which span the previous centuries.

In the wake of the destruction of Olde Earth three brothers, princes, Trajan Wolvoz, Jason Wolvoz and Cinder Wolvoz upon the untimely death of there father seek to discover which one of them is to fore fill an ancient prophecy as written by Nostradamus. To rise from the flames of Mount Medievon in 3776 AD to become the Phenix and lead the souls named in Arch Angel Michael’s Cryptex of Destiny to fight for Jesus Christ and Christianity against the evil Nefilim. There journeys both alone and connected will either bring peace or destruction upon there home of Novus Atlantis.
Armed only with his fathers sword The Retaliator Jason Wolvoz having risen from the dead takes on the spiritual quest along with his own personal one to become the Phenix and enter the Thunder Sphinx to retrieve the Cryptex of Destiny and one of the fabled Crystal Skulls (The Wolvenite Crystal Skull). His journey is thwart with both danger and enemies like the SS Legion, lycans, vampires and other species around every corner. With his own inner battles with his former self, the vampirical Dante, as well as past love interests he must overcome his own fears and learn who to trust if he is to succeed at all.

Glancing at the title alone and nothing else I was unsure of what I was about to be reading as my mind filed the title Clash at Creeden with the likes of Conan the Barbarian.
I am happy to say my mind was changed. Having viewed the following several pages including cover art, beautiful colourful illustrations and a map of Novus Atlantis. I found myself overwhelmed by the professionalism and effort put into Clash at Creeden that I actually found myself questioning my own writing which for The Sunz of The Zodiac is a great thing because there are authors and there are authors then there are these guys up there especially with there amazing art work, with the likes of Tolkien. Its one thing to be able to write but its another to be able to show though images how these characters and worlds exist in the writers mind.
The introduction appears a little long, I myself thought I was reading the story when in fact I wasn’t however, the world created here is a dark and yet wondrous place. You never know what’s around the corner. With its amalgamation of fantasy, spiritualism, almost every controversial theory under the sun, and lost and debunked theories, as well as covering the human condition, love, destiny, faith, belief and betrayal, everything which makes us human. This is essentially a fellowship of the future for a new age of readers. There are however some spelling changes which have been made such as the letter Z replacing where there should be an S, but you do get used to them eventually, and this is made up for by how descriptive the entire story is, drawing the reader into the pages, into the world that you find a pace to the story that before long a few hours have passed and you’re still sat reading.

I would recommend Clash At Creeden to anyone between the ages of 18 and 40 I say this because the story itself will appeal to many along with the combination of language used which flows and blends nicely considering its range from Old English to modern slang. This saga is sure to leave even those with the simplest of knowledge of the ancient world and debunked theories wanting to know more about who we are where we come from and what lies ahead for us. I love the way the facts of the real world have only been altered slightly to make them blend together, this could be something for non-believers to get stuck on however those interested in the subjects brought up will no doubt stay tuned. Given the style of writing used and the detailing throughout, because of how I personally imagined it to be, I think this story could one day make an amazing anime.

So, for what this book is also doing for the world of controversial theorists and how much I enjoyed reading Clash at Creeden. I give this book and The Suns Of The Zodiac 4 out of 5 stars.

By R.N. Hadley