CLOSED to any and all requests until further notice
Thank you for your patience

19 Mar 2009

Avenging Autumn Seasons Change Series Book 1

Avenging Autumn Seasons Change Series Book 1 of 4 written by Derek A. Schneider and published by AuthorHouse is a tragic romance at 230 pages in length.

Derek Schneider lives in Camby, Indiana with his wife and two sons. After co-writing and supplying the artwork for a little known, very independent comic book that was eventually put on hold, he decided to focus all of his energy on writing. Inspired by various musical artists, Avenging Autumn is Mr Schneider’s first published book, the second book in the series The Wintermen is also now available.

The cover art for Avenging Autumn depicts a graveyard with a dark haired woman leaning against one of the head stones; this lower half of the image is shown in black and white while the top half of trees are shown in their full autumn glory with orange coloured leaves. The title is central top in bold black lettering while the authors name is in black at the bottom with a white background. The back cover also has the autumn trees at the top below this can be found a short synopsis and author biography.

Avenging Autumn Seasons Change Book 1 follows the story of Benny Writeman and Autumn Sanders. We see them as fully grown adults married and growing up their love blossoming. When Autumn is killed and returns from the grave telling Benny vampires are responsible and she can only truly rest once they are dead, together they turn to the only two people they know they can trust to help them. Death and destruction is their path in seeking those responsible while the family is brought closer together in losing one of their own.

Derek Schneider has created a great and slightly unusual story which holds together nicely. With its historical references I believe it’s the comical nature between the characters which helps to move the story along. The Writeman brothers are very much like the Winchester brothers (Supernatural) brought up in a family with a dark and dangerous secret. Even in dark times love can be a beacon of hope and can still exist between the living and the dead. While death is at their doorstep it is their love for one another and those around them which keeps them fighting onward.

Avenging Autumn is a book aimed at those around the age of 18 years plus and I’d recommend it to anyone, the characters are funny, and the story is ever expanding. I had this book complete within two days and give both Derek Schneider and Avenging Autumn Book 1 four out of five stars.

By R.N. Hadley

No comments: